# Thomas County Board of Education Minutes April 13, 2021, 7:00 p.m.

#### **Attendees:**

# **Voting Members**

Mr. Charles Evans, Board Member

Mr. Chris Hayes, Board Member

Ms. Nancy Hiers, Board Member

Mr. Mark NeSmith, Vice Chair

Mrs. Leah Smith, Board Member

Mr. Dan Stewart, Board Member

Mrs. Kay Streets, Chair

## **Non-Voting Members**

Mrs. Carol Gerald, Administrative Assistant

Mr. Joey Holland, Deputy Superintendent for Finance

Dr. Lisa Williams, Superintendent

Mr. Ken Harper, New District 3 Board Member

- I. Call to Order
- II. Devotional Levi Williams, Assistant Principal at Thomas County Middle School
- III. Pledge of Allegiance
- IV. Approval of Consent Agenda
  - A. Agenda
  - B. Minutes: March 9 and March 30
  - C. Bishop Hall board minutes: February 18
  - D. Upcoming meeting: May 11 regular meeting
  - E. Warehouse supplies bid
  - F. Paper bid
  - G. House Bill 91 Graduate

Motion made by: Mr. Dan Stewart

Motion seconded by: Ms. Nancy Hiers

Voting: Unanimously Approved

### V. Superintendent's Report

- A. Strategic Planning Team Meeting April 27, 2021, 8:30 A.M. 3:00 P.M. in the PLC
- B. Thomas County Central High School Senior Walk: Saturday, May 1, 2021, 4:00 P.M. in the TCCHS Gym
- C. Bishop Hall Graduation: Friday, May 28, 2021, 6:30 P.M., at the Jackets' Nest Stadium
- D. Thomas County Central High School Graduation: Saturday, May 29, 2021, 9:00 A.M., at the Jackets' Nest Stadium
- E. Financial report Joey Holland

#### VI. New Business

A. Resolution declaring the March 16, 2021, E-SPLOST V election results

Motion made by: Mr. Mark NeSmith

Motion seconded by: Mr. Chris Hayes

Voting: Unanimously Approved

B. Amend FY2021 budget to incorporate changes since the initial budget approval

Motion made by: Mr. Chris Hayes Motion seconded by: Mr. Dan Stewart Voting: Unanimously Approved

C. Recommendation to award bid for new roof on the School Nutrition Building

Motion made by: Mr. Charles Evans Motion seconded by: Mr. Dan Stewart Voting: Unanimously Approved

D. Purchase of technology equipment

Motion made by: Ms. Nancy Hiers Motion seconded by: Mrs. Leah Smith Voting: Unanimously Approved

E. Executive Session for personnel

Motion made by: Mr. Charles Evans Motion seconded by: Mr. Chris Hayes Voting: Unanimously Approved

F. End Executive Session

Motion made by: Ms. Nancy Hiers

Motion seconded by: Mr. Charles Evans

Voting: Unanimously Approved

G. Personnel report

Motion made by: Mr. Dan Stewart

Motion seconded by: Mr. Mark NeSmith

Voting: Unanimously Approved

H. Resignation acceptance and recognition of outgoing board member

A motion was made to accept the resignation of District 3 board member, Charles Evans. Mr. Evans served for more than 14 years of faithful, dedicated service as a board member. Mrs. Streets, on behalf of the board, expressed appreciation to Mr. Evans for his years of service and support to the school system.

Motion made by: Ms. Nancy Hiers

Second by: Mrs. Leah Smith

Voting: Mr. Charles Evans - Abstain

Mr. Chris Hayes - Yes

Ms. Nancy Hiers - Yes

Mr. Mark NeSmith - Yes

Mrs. Leah Smith - Yes

Mr. Dan Stewart - Yes

Mrs. Kay Streets - Yes

I. Appointment of new board member

A motion was made for Ken Harper to fill the District 3 board vacancy.

Motion made by: Mr. Mark NeSmith Motion seconded by: Mr. Chris Hayes Voting: Mr. Charles Evans - Abstain Mr. Chris Hayes - Yes

Ms. Nancy Hiers - Yes

Mr. Mark NeSmith - Yes

Mrs. Leah Smith - Yes

Mr. Dan Stewart - Yes

Mrs. Kay Streets - Yes

J. GSBA New and Veteran Board Member Training and Conference in Savannah, June 9-12

Motion made by: Mr. Chris Hayes

Motion seconded by: Mrs. Leah Smith

Voting: Mr. Charles Evans - Abstain

Mr. Chris Hayes - Yes

Ms. Nancy Hiers - Yes

Mr. Mark NeSmith - Yes

Mrs. Leah Smith - Yes

Mr. Dan Stewart - Yes

Mrs. Kay Streets - Yes

K. Delegate and alternate for GSBA Delegate Assembly in Savannah June 11-12

A motion was made for Leah Smith to serve as delegate and Ken Harper to serve as alternate for the GSBA Delegate Assembly being held in Savannah June 11-12.

Motion made by: Mr. Mark NeSmith

Motion seconded by: Mr. Chris Hayes

Voting: Mr. Charles Evans - Abstain

Mr. Chris Hayes - Yes

Ms. Nancy Hiers - Yes

Mr. Mark NeSmith -Yes

Mrs. Leah Smith - Yes

Mr. Dan Stewart - Yes

Mrs. Kay Streets - Yes

#### VII. Adjournment

Motion made by: Mr. Mark NeSmith

Motion seconded by: Mr. Chris Hayes

Voting: Mr. Charles Evans - Abstain

Mr. Chris Hayes - Yes

Ms. Nancy Hiers - Yes

Mr. Mark NeSmith - Yes

Mrs. Leah Smith - Yes

Mr. Dan Stewart - Yes

Mrs. Kay Streets - Yes	
Chairperson	Secretary